The User Management feature allows for the creation of accesses and management of users in the Portal. When a Portal access is created, one or more Owners of the Portal are added to the user list, receiving an activation email. From then on, those users are enabled to manage same or lower-tier user roles and thus manage access to the Portal, as well as delegate any of the tasks that come with it, including the management of other users.
Where entering the User Management section you will be presented with the current active users list:
The users are listed with their full name, email address and current role. Clicking on any user will show the user details.
It's possible to search for specific users, either by name or email. Typing the search value will restrict the user list to the ones matching the search criteria partially. You can also filter the list by user role.
It's possible to edit the user first and last names, and change their role (if the role of the user performing the action allows it). Changing the email is not possible: it acts as a username and is immutable. If any mistakes are made, the user should be deactivated and added with the correct address. Don't forget to save any changes by clicking the appropriate button.
Deactivating a user
If you wish to deactivate a user, hover over the user entry to find an trash bin icon at the end of it. Click it and confirm the action to deactivate the users. Deactivated users are excluced from the users list and lose access to the portal.
Inviting new users
It's possible for an authorized user to invite users and set their role by clicking Create New > User. Invited users that have not yet completed the activation of the account will be listed under the Invited tab.
You can create user in two steps:
- first, select the role of the user(s) to be added
- next, add one or multiple users, filling in their details. You can add as many users as you like, by adding additional rows, but bear in mind all of them will be added with the role previously selected.
All added users will receive an activation email and need to complete the process before accessing the Portal. At that time, they will move from the Invited to the Users tab.
I can't add a specific user to the Portal - what can I do?
If you see a message reading "Could not create X since this email is already being used by another account.", it's likely the user has existed before but has been deactivated. Don't worry. We can help you adding the user back to the Portal, but you will need to make that request reach us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Another reason for this to happen is if the user is part of a different Portal. This may happen if the same person needs access to both an in-house operation and the BPO's portal, for example. In this case, you will also need to reach out to us in order to enable access.